No Democrats file for top Sebastian County elected positions

by Michael Tilley ([email protected]) 1,397 views 

No Democrats filed for the top six Sebastian County elected positions, assuring that the posts will again be held by Republicans following the 2022 general election. However, three of the jobs will see a Republican primary in Arkansas’ May 24 primary election.

Arkansas’ filing period for the 2022 election cycle closed Tuesday (Mar. 1) at noon.

The County Judge job will have three contenders with Former State Representative and State Senator Denny Altes, Sebastian County Treasurer/Collector Steve Hotz, and Jeff Turner vying for the job.

Susie Hassett and Marcus Phillips will face each other in the GOP primary for Circuit Clerk. Sebastian County Circuit Clerk Cindy Gilmer was appointed to the post following the retirement of Denorah Coomer and is not eligible to seek reelection in 2022.

Returning again to the political scene is Ken Blevins, who was defeated in a May 2012 GOP primary by Coomer for Circuit Clerk. The defeat ended a controversial term by Blevins that included numerous sexual harassment accusations and lawsuits. In 2018 Blevins would run as a Democrat for Sebastian County Judge, and was defeated by Mosie Boyd in the Democratic primary. Blevins will face Charity Gregory and Lora Rice in the GOP primary for Treasurer/Collector.

County Clerk Sharon Brooks, a Republican, is running unopposed, as is Republican County Assessor Zach Johnson and Republican Sheriff Hobe Runion III. County Coroner Kenny Hobbs, also a Republican, is unopposed.

Sebastian County Prosecuting Attorney Dan Shue, who has held the post since January 2009, is seeking reelection in the non-partisan job. He will face Fort Smith attorney Mosie Boyd.

“As your elected Prosecuting Attorney, I cannot just process cases presented to me by law enforcement,” Shue noted in his reelection announcement. “My duties are three-fold: seek the truth, protect the innocent, and convict the guilty. I must also focus on crime prevention, sentencing alternatives, building partnerships with citizens in the community, and prioritizing the rights of crime victims.”

“As prosecutor, I will open the doors of our hiring process and help our community recruit and mentor young people from diverse backgrounds to pursue careers in our prosecutor’s office,” Boyd told Talk Business & Politics. “That will help resolve the appearance of impropriety that some law-abiding people in our community are being left out. Creating a more fair process will help incentivize frustrated young people to follow the law and encourage them to show greater respect for our law enforcement officers who put their lives on the line every day to protect us.”

Following are those who filed for Sebastian County Quorum Court (Justice of the Peace) positions.
District 1
Johhny Hobbs, Republican

District 2
Jackie Davis, Republican

District 3
Shawn Looper, Republican

District 4
James Butler (incumbent), Republican
Jeremy Ibison, Republican

District 5
John Spradlin, Republican

District 6
Danny Aldridge, Republican

District 7
Kenneth Williamson, Republican

District 8
Valeria Robinson, Democrat

District 9
Rhonda Royal, Democrat

District 10
Dickie Robertson (incumbent), Democrat
James Higginbotham, Republican

District 11
Linda Willsey Murry (incumbent), Democrat
Zach Mulson, Libertarian
Gerry Ward, Democrat

District 12
Tommy Camp, Republican

District 13
Lorrie Runion, Republican