Gov. Hutchinson to co-chair Council of Governors

by Talk Business & Politics staff ([email protected]) 254 views 

President Donald Trump has selected Arkansas Governor Asa Hutchinson to co-chair the Council of Governors, the White House announced Thursday (Feb. 21).

The Council of Governors was created by the National Defense Authorization Act in 2008 and was formally established by Executive Order in January 2010. The Council allows governors and key federal officials to address matters pertaining to the National Guard, homeland defense, and defense support to civil authorities.

“As our nation faces increasing national security threats, this Council is an important partnership between the states and the federal government to strengthen our homeland defenses,” Hutchinson said. “It has been an honor to serve on the Council over the past six months, and it will be a privilege to represent Arkansas as a co-chair for the remainder of my term.”

Trump appointed Hutchinson to a two-year term on the 10-member Council in July 2018.

Hutchinson assumed his role as co-chair of the Council of Governors when the Council met Friday in Washington.

The other appointees include:

Governor Steve Bullock of Montana
Governor Douglas A. Ducey of Arizona
Governor Mike DeWine of Ohio
Governor David Ige of Hawaii, designated Co-Chair
Governor Edward Miner Lamont, Jr., of Connecticut
Governor J.B. Prizker of Illinois
Governor Michael Lynn Parson of Missouri
Governor Pete Ricketts of Nebraska
Governor Tim Walz of Minnesota
Governor Asa Hutchinson of Arkansas, designated Co-Chair