Arkansas House, Senate members prepare for 2009 General Assembly

by The City Wire staff ([email protected]) 141 views 

With the elections over, activity builds toward the 2009 Arkansas Legislative General Assembly. Today (Nov. 7), new and existing members of the Arkansas House of Representatives  who will participate in the Assembly gathered in Little Rock to determine seniority and learn committee assignments. (The City Wire staff will update this post when committee assignments are made public.)

What is known is who will be representing the Fort Smith region during the General Assembly. They are (with contact info and links for current House and Senate members):

Arkansas House of Representatives

District 62
Terry Rice, R-Waldron
Rice defeated former State Senator Bill Walters to fill the seat vacated by a term-limited State Rep. Shirley Walters, the wife of Bill Walters.

District 63
Rep. Frank Glidewell, R-Fort Smith
646-6300; [email protected]

District 64
Stephanie Malone, R-Fort Smith
Malone defeated Mike Bock to fill the seat vacated by a term-limited State Rep. Jim Medley.

District 65
Rep. Tracy Pennartz, D-Fort Smith
285-4800; [email protected]

District 66
Rep. Rick Green, R-Van Buren
471-9911; [email protected]

District 67
Rep. Steve Breedlove, D-Greenwood
996-6040; [email protected]

District 83
Rep. Beverly Pyle, R-Cedarville
474-9697; [email protected]

District 84
Rep. John Paul Wells, D-Paris
963-3227; [email protected]

District 87
Rep. Mark Martin, R-Prairie Grove
466-7386; [email protected]

Arkansas State Senate

District 3
Sen. Ruth Whitaker, R-Cedarville
474-0911; [email protected]

District 4
Sen. Sharon Trusty, R-Russellville (district includes east Logan County)
880-9576; [email protected]

District 6
Sen. Ed Wilkinson, D-Greenwood
996-4171; [email protected]

District 13
Sen. Denny Altes, R-Fort Smith
646-8981; [email protected]