Grant Tennille re-elected as chair of Arkansas Democrats

by Talk Business & Politics staff ([email protected]) 854 views 

Grant Tennille was re-elected unanimously as chairman of the Democratic Party of Arkansas on Saturday (Jan. 28). He will serve a four-year term.

The meeting, held at Shorter College in North Little Rock, was a reversal of expectations from December when Tennille said he would not seek re-election as chair. Subsequently, he has said that former State Senators Joyce Elliott and Keith Ingram, and others, persuaded him to stay.

“Friends, two months ago, I was as exhausted as I’ve ever been in my life,” said Tennille in a speech following his nomination. “I felt beaten up and beaten down. I was ready for a break. Fortunately, all of us have good friends who spent time talking to me and working with me. They made me understand that this moment in Arkansas is fraught with danger, and with possibility.”

Party leaders announced the state party had eliminated all outstanding debts from previous elections, a key reason Tennille was brought in over a year ago.

“As of this week, we are no longer tethered to the mistakes of the past,” said Tennille. “This is your party again, and I promise you that we will never make those mistakes again.”

Jannie Cotton, a retired CEO and mental health policy leader from Sherwood, won election as the State Party’s First Vice Chair. Dustin Parsons, an educator in Bauxite, won re-election as Vice Chair for County Committees. Darlene Goldi Gaines of North Little Rock, the party’s nominee for Commissioner of State Lands in 2022, won election as Treasurer. Joshua Price of Maumelle, a former Pulaski County Election Commissioner, won a new term as State Party Secretary. Gracie Ziegler of Fayetteville, a long-time party activist and leader in Northwest Arkansas, won election as Vice Chair for Auxiliaries.