Eight Arkansas additions to National Register of Historic Places

by Talk Business & Politics staff ([email protected]) 3,319 views 

The Arkansas Historic Preservation Program announced its latest additions to the National Register of Historic Places.

The National Register of Historic Places is a program of the National Park Service. Listings are honorary and properties with this distinction may be eligible for grant and tax programs on the state and national level.

The new listings include:

  • Scott Memorial Methodist Episcopal Church, Chicot County
  • First Presbyterian Church, Phillips County
  • Arkansas State Fairgrounds Historic District, Pulaski County
  • Broadmoor Neighborhood Historic District, Pulaski County
  • Forrest City Public Library, St. Francis County
  • Presbyterian Center, Washington County
  • Winslow Commercial Historic District, Washington County
  • North Garvin Drive Historic District, Washington County

Since March 2020, the Arkansas Historic Preservation Program has completed 1,044 architectural surveys, presented 13 Arkansas Register nominations with nine new listings in eight counties and four listings being elevated to the National Register, and presented 83 National Register nominations in 33 counties with 69 listings being registered and more in consideration.