New leaders elected for Arkansas chapter of Skål International

by Talk Business & Politics staff ([email protected]) 190 views 

The Arkansas chapter of Skål International honored members and announced a new slate of officers at their December dinner Dec. 6 at Cajun’s Wharf in Little Rock.

Skål is a professional organization of tourism leaders around the world. The organization, which has almost 14,000 members in 354 clubs in 83 nations, including the United States, promotes global tourism and friendship. Skål Arkansas has almost 50 members who work in the hospitality and tourism sectors.

Three members were singled out for special recognition at the meeting.

Chuck Magill of the Capitol Hotel received the Halstead Award based on service, attitude and contribution to the club. This award is also known as the “Spirit of Skål Award.”

Bob Major and the North Little Rock Convention & Visitors Bureau received the Dan Baker Award for long-term outstanding service by an organization, business or individual.

Gretchen Hall of the Little Rock Convention & Visitors Bureau (LRCVB) and Montine McNulty of the Arkansas Hospitality Association received the Jamison Award for their long-time service and membership in Skål. McNulty and Hall both joined the organization in 2009.

Officers for 2019 are:

  • Gretchen Hall with LRCVB, president;
  • Susan West with Arkansas Tech University, vice president;
  • Ralph Shoptaw, secretary/treasurer;
  • Kelley Bass with Museum of Discovery, at large 1;
  • Jana Cohen with Arkansas Destinations, at large 2;
  • Karen Trevino with North Little Rock Convention & Visitors Bureau, international Arkansas director;
  • Chuck Magill of Capital Hotel, USA representative; and
  • Bob Major with North Little Rock Convention & Visitors Bureau; past president.

In 2017, Arkansas tourism and travel accounted for roughly $7.8 billion in economic activity and employed more than 66,000 workers statewide.