Arkansas Colleges of Health Education forms advisory council

by Talk Business & Politics staff ([email protected]) 1,105 views 

The Fort Smith-based Arkansas Colleges of Health Education (ACHE) has formed the ACHE Advancement Advisory Council to help the ACHE Board of Trustees in their advancement efforts and to “further connect the community to the institution,” according to an ACHE statement.

ACHE is the parent organization of the Arkansas College of Osteopathic Medicine and the newly formed Arkansas College of Health Sciences. The osteopathic college opened to its first group of students in August 2017. The health sciences college is set to open to its first class in August 2020.

“The ACHE Board of Trustees recognized that as the first and only private institution in Arkansas dedicated solely to healthcare and wellness education, having inclusive and collaborative relationships with a variety of individuals and institutions would be imperative to the institution’s success,” said Jackie Krutsch, executive director of development for ACHE. “To fulfill the mission of ACHE requires the eyes, ears, and voices of community leaders from across the region.”

Tasks of the council includes building awareness of the institution, graduate degree programs, and student needs.

Following are the Advisory Council members.
Larry Bone, Trotter Electric
Deborah Yeager Clark, Yeagers Hardware
Bob Cooper, Sr., Farrell-Cooper Mining
Judy Englehart, Regions Insurance Services (retired)
Michael Hadley, McDonalds Corporation
Ken Kilgore, Victoria Healthcare
Chester Koprovic, Boyd Metals
Lance Lanier, Citizens Bank and Trust Company
Sharla Lau, Coldwell Banker Fleming-Lau Realty
Aaron Littlefield, Littlefield Oil Company
Bob Miller, Miller Investments
Lavon Morton, ArcBest Corp. (retired)
Dr. Louay Nassri, Arkansas College of Osteopathic Medicine
Marty Shell, Five Rivers Distribution
Rodney Shepard, Arvest Bank
Sam T. Sicard, First National Bank
Debbie Thomas, Van Buren Education Foundation
Shirley Walters, former member of the Arkansas House of Representatives
Rodney West, Simmons Bank
Norman Wilkinson, Farmers Bank of Greenwood
Fred Williams, Williams/Crawford & Associates
Larry Zigerelli, FFO Home

The first quarterly meeting is set for January 2019 at which a council chair will be named. According to Krutsch, plans for 2019 include informing council members about the various ACHE programs, including National Institutes of Health funded research, hands-on community service by ARCOM student doctors, and the development of the new doctoral programs.

“The ACHE Advancement Advisory Council will have no governing authority, but rather is formed to provide advice, advocacy, and assistance in resource development,” noted the ACHE statement. “Council members will assist the institution in building relationships with potential donors, securing private support for the institution’s funding needs; and to provide advice to the ACHE President, Development Committee, and Board of Trustees on matters relating to the advancement of ACHE.”

Some of that support also will include the establishment of student scholarships, endowments and capital projects.

“We are excited to have the participation and support of such a dynamic and stellar group of community leaders,” said Krutsch. “As ACHE continues to develop programs to meet the healthcare and wellness needs of the region, the Advancement Advisory Council will be an essential part of our success.”