Fort Smith attorney heads new leadership of Arkansas Trial Lawyers Association

by Talk Business & Politics staff ([email protected]) 305 views 

The Arkansas Trial Lawyers Association (ATLA) installed new leadership recently at its 54th annual convention in Eureka Springs.

Fort Smith attorney Joey McCutchen accepted the 2017 – 2018 President’s Gavel as well as the Roxanne Wilson Advocacy Award. The honor, according to the ATLA, is given to a member who is dedicated to activism in the advancement and improvement of the legal system and the legal profession, to the defense of those who cannot find justice for themselves, and who demonstrates dedication to family, the community, and to ATLA.

McCutchen is the founder of McCutchen & Sexton – The Law Firm, where he represents catastrophic personal injury cases.

Joey is a resolute defender of the 7th Amendment and is a passionate safety advocate,” said outgoing president Robin Smith. “His commitment to the Constitution, the Bill of Rights, and to safety often leads him to the state capitol where his work to educate lawmakers on the importance of protecting the civil justice system has been invaluable to all Arkansans.”

Other ATLA officers installed were Jesse Gibson of Little Rock, president-elect; Bryce Brewer of Little Rock, vice-president; and Alan Lane of Fayetteville, secretary/treasurer.

The full list of 2017 ATLA Award recipients are:

  • 2017 Outstanding Trial Lawyer of the Year, Tre Kitchens of the Brad Hendricks Law Firm
  • 2017 Trial Judge of the Year, The Honorable John Homer Wright
  • 2017 Henry Woods Lifetime Achievement Award, Frank Bailey of the Bailey & Oliver Law Firm
  • 2017 Roxanne Wilson Advocacy Award, Joey McCutchen
  • 2017 Consumer Advocate Award, Representative Jimmy Gazaway of Paragould
  • 2017 Citizen Merit Award, Retired Colonel Mike Ross, North Little Rock
  • 2017 Outstanding Member – New Lawyer Division, Josh Gillispie of Green & Gillispie, Attorneys at Law
  • 2017 Outstanding Paralegal, Kathleen Monk, Springdale