Economics Arkansas adds 7 to board

by Talk Business & Politics staff ([email protected]) 255 views 

The Economics Arkansas board voted to appoint seven new members to its roster. Those elected began a three-year term beginning June 1, 2024.

They are:

  • Dr. Tiffany Bone, Assistant Superintendent, Fort Smith Public Schools
  • Holly Lenderman, VP, Corporate Marketing & Communications, Stephens Inc.
  • Commissioner Susannah Marshall, Arkansas State Bank & Securities Department
  • Secretary Jacob Oliva, Arkansas Department of Education
  • Dr. Lee Smith, Superintendent, Mena Public Schools
  • Dr. Celya Taylor, Assoc. Vice Chancellor for Academic Affairs & Dean of Faculty, Henderson State University
  • Jeremiah Wood, Attorney, Friday, Eldredge & Clark, LLP

Heather Jones, Arkansas market president at Bank of America, began her two-year term as board chair, while Dr. Karen Walters, Bryant School District superintendent, will serve a two-year term as board president.

Economics Arkansas is a private, non-profit, non-partisan, educational organization founded in 1962 by Dr. Arch Ford and led by Dr. Bessie B. Moore to promote economic literacy in Arkansas.

Its mission is to equip PreK-12 schools with training and resources to teach economics and personal finance using practical, innovative and inspiring methods so that Arkansas students may become economically and financially literate, allowing them to achieve their own American dream and thrive in a free-market economy.