AEDC Division of Rural Services awards block grants

by Talk Business & Politics staff ([email protected]) 593 views 

The Arkansas Economic Development Commission (AEDC) Division of Rural Services has awarded 22 community grants totaling $277,586.60 and one block grant of $75,000 to counties and communities across the state.

“Our rural communities are the lifeblood of our state,” said Arkansas Secretary of Commerce Mike Preston. “The projects funded through these grants help small communities leverage funds to meet critical needs so that they can provide a better quality of life for residents and visitors alike as well as make our state more attractive to new and expanding businesses looking to invest in economic development projects.”

The town of South Lead Hill was awarded a $75,000 Rural Services Block Grant. Additionally, the community population must be at least 51% low to moderate income. Infrastructure funded through the grant may include such projects as new construction or renovation of community centers, fire stations, or multi-purpose buildings, and the purchase of fire trucks (pumper, tanker, brush, or certain service trucks). The match for this grant is 10% and may be comprised of in-kind labor, in-kind materials, or cash.

Under the Rural Community Grant Program, applicants from incorporated towns of less than 3,000 in population and unincorporated rural areas are eligible for up to $15,000 in matching funds for community development and fire protection projects. The program requires a 50% match for counties and communities to qualify. The 22 communities awarded Rural Community Grants this cycle are as follows:

Western Greene County Fire District, $15,000.00
Avoca Fire Department, $15,000.00
City Of Bald Knob, $13,343.50
City Of Bono, $15,000.00
Town of Briarcliff, $15,000.00
City Of Clinton, $15,000.00
Town Of Colt, $15,000.00
Cotter-Gassville Rural Fire Protection District, $12,811.75
Highland Fire Department, $12,175.00
Holland Volunteer Fire Department, $15,000.00
City Of Jasper, $15,000.00
City Of Leachville, $14,325.00
Town Of Lynn, $5,292.10
Oakland Promise Land Community, $14,707.70
Ola Fire Department, $15,000.00
Pangburn Volunteer Fire Department, $9,000.00
Philadelphia Volunteer Fire Department, $6,332.55
Pineville Fire Department, $14,861.00
Town Of Sulphur Rock, $3,238.00
City Of Taylor, $6,500.00
Tillar Fire Department, $15,000.00
Watalula Volunteer Fire Department, $15,000.00