King unseats Sen. Ballinger in Senate race run off; Dees wins Senate District 35 primary

by Talk Business & Politics staff ([email protected]) 1,935 views 

Tuesday’s (June 21) run off elections saw five Republicans win Northwest Arkansas legislative primaries. In what was likely one of the most closely watched legislative races in Arkansas, former Sen. Bryan King defeated incumbent Sen. Bob Ballinger in the Senate District 28 race.

Following are the election results in the five GOP legislative run off elections:

• Arkansas Senate
District 28 (The large rural district stretches from the Missouri border in Carroll and Boone counties down to the northern parts of Franklin and Johnson counties.)
Sen. Bob Ballinger: 46%
Bryan King: 54%

King will face Democrat Jim Wallace in the November general election.

District 35 (The district primarily includes the western parts of Benton and Washington counties.)
Tyler Dees: 63%
Rep. Gayla McKenzie: 37%

Dees will face Libertarian Doug Peterson in the November general election.

• Arkansas House
District 12 (The district covers the northwest corner of Benton County.)
Hope Hendren Duke: 68%
Jay Oliphant: 32%

Duke will face Libertarian David Gill in the November general election.

District 13 (The small district includes parts of Rogers and Bentonville.)
Scott Richardson: 60%
Denise Bugos: 40%

Richardson will face Democrat Jen Standerfer in the November general election.

District 23 (The district includes the western part of Washington County and includes the towns of Prairie Grove, West Fork and Greenland.)
Kendra Moore: 57%
Byron Suggs: 43%

Moore will face Libertarian Ryan Hanson in the November general election.

For more statewide legislative run off returns, click here.