‘Grow for the Green’ soybean yield contest winners announced

by Talk Business & Politics staff ([email protected]) 759 views 

The Arkansas Soybean Promotion Board (ASPB) and the Arkansas Soybean Association (ASA) have selected the winners of the 2021 “Grow for the Green” soybean yield contest.

The winners were announced at the ASA’s recent annual meeting. The contest divides state soybean producers into nine groups, seven geographic regions, one all state conventional (non-GMO) category and a Champions Category consisting of all previous 100-bushel winners.

Cash prizes were awarded to the top three in each division, achieving a minimum of 60 Bu/A with the exception of the Champions.

There were 82 soybean producers who entered the 2021 contest. The “Race for 100” yield contest began in 2007, and in 2013, the first three producers reached the goal.

Matt Miles from Desha County achieved the 100-bushel mark for the seventh time with a yield of 121.318 bushel/acre, winning the Champions Division. Neil Culp from Phillips County achieved a new state record with 130.784 bushel/acre.

The “Grow for the Green” soybean yield challenge is funded by the Arkansas Soybean Promotion Board using producer checkoff funds. The contests are administered by the Arkansas Soybean Association in cooperation with the University of Arkansas System Division of Agriculture.

The newest members of the 100-yield club:

Green County – Linwood Wells
Craighead County – Mike Hook
Randolph County – Blake & Kent Bennett
Cross County – Tim Fisher
Clay County – Bruce Catt
Prairie County – Davis Bell
Prairie County – David Petter
Phillips County – Neil Culp
Phillips County – Jill Culp
Desha County – Robb Dedman