Speaker Shepherd appoints Clark Smith of El Dorado to citizens commission

by Talk Business & Politics staff ([email protected]) 542 views 

Arkansas House Speaker Matthew Shepherd on Wednesday (Nov. 3) named Clark Smith of El Dorado to serve on the Arkansas Independent Citizens Commission.

Smith will serve the remainder of Nathan Evers four-year term which is set to expire in January 2023. Evers resigned from the commission in August of this year.

The Independent Citizens Commission was created in 2015 after Arkansas voters approved Amendment 94. The commission sets salaries of elected constitutional officers of the executive department, members of the General Assembly, justices, and judges.

Smith is the Senior Vice President of Martin Resource Management/Cross Oil in Smackover. He has been with the company for 29 years.

Amendment 94 assigns the Speaker of the Arkansas House of Representatives to make two appointments to the commission. Shepherd appointed J. Thomas “Tommy” May of Pine Bluff to the Independent Citizens Commission in February 2019.