Mel Coleman, Diana Holmes join Today’s Power board of directors

by Talk Business & Politics staff ([email protected]) 637 views 

North Little Rock-based renewable energy company Today’s Power Inc. (TPI) announced Thursday (Aug. 20) the addition of two members to its board of directors: Mel Coleman and Diana Holmes.

Coleman is CEO of North Arkansas Electric Cooperative and director for Arkansas Electric Cooperative Corp. and Arkansas Electric Cooperatives Inc. Holmes is secretary-treasurer on the board of directors of Mississippi County Electric Cooperative and director for Arkansas Electric Cooperative Corp. and Arkansas Electric Cooperatives Inc.

They will replace board members Leon Philpot and Sean Holland. Philpot recently retired from Rich Mountain Electric Cooperative and has served on the TPI board since 2014. Holland, a director at Arkansas Valley Electric Cooperative, served on the TPI board since 2016.

“It’s stressful losing experienced directors, but the appointment of Mel and Diana who have provided valuable leadership at the local, state and national levels helps alleviate the stress of director turnover,” TPI President Michael Henderson said. “We are excited with the addition of Mel and Diana to the TPI board and look forward to their leadership and insights as TPI continues its growth.”

Coleman is a former president of the National Rural Electric Cooperative Association and director of the National Rural Utilities Cooperative Finance Corp. The Pocahontas native joined North Arkansas Electric Cooperative in 1988 as the manager of member services. He was promoted to assistant general manager 10 years later. He was promoted to his existing position in January 2001. He serves on the development council of Arkansas State Univerisity – Mountain Home. He earned a radio/TV degree from Arkansas State University in Jonesboro.

Holmes has worked in computer consulting, programming and data processing and is a certified financial planner licensee with Holmes Financial Services Inc. in Blytheville. She has served on the board of Federated Rural Electric Insurance Exchange, the predominant insurer of rural electric cooperatives. She has been a director of Mississippi County Electric Cooperative Inc. since 1996 and director of Arkansas Electric Cooperatives Inc. since August 2019. She earned bachelor’s and master’s degrees in mathematics from the University of Arkansas. She completed the CFP Professional Education Program from the College for Financial Planning in Denver. She serves as president of the Mississippi County Library Systems Board and is treasurer for the Blytheville Ritz Foundation and First United Methodist Church of Blytheville.

TPI is a subsidiary of Little Rock-based Arkansas Electric Cooperatives Inc., a utility service cooperative owned by 17 Arkansas electric distribution cooperatives.