ATRI appoints trucking industry executives to research committee

by Talk Business & Politics staff ([email protected]) 168 views 

Four trucking industry executives in Arkansas were among those named to serve on the 2019-2020 Research Advisory Committee of the American Transportation Research Institute (ATRI), a nonprofit research organization for trade group American Trucking Associations.

The Research Advisory Committee is responsible for identifying the top research priorities for the trucking industry annually, and the board of directors for ATRI selected 33 trucking industry stakeholders to serve on the 2019-2020 committee. Following are the Arkansas executives named to the committee: Kenneth Calhoun, fleet optimization manager for Altec Service Group, Shannon Newton, president of the Arkansas Trucking Association, Lee Sarratt, director of safety for Lowell-based carrier J.B. Hunt Transport Services and Mike Stephens, senior director of finance for Van Buren-based carrier USA Truck. Other members on the committee represent motor carriers, industry suppliers, commercial drivers, shippers, law enforcement, academia and government.

“RAC members serve a critical role in developing and prioritizing research proposals that address the trucking industry’s top challenges,” said Rebecca Brewster, president and chief operating officer for ATRI. “Congratulations to those appointed by the ATRI Board to serve in this important role, and we look forward to working with them.”

Karen Rasmussen, CEO of transportation safety nonprofit HELP Inc., was reappointed to serve as chair for the committee.

Facebook Comments