Massey Foundation gives $2 million to Advance Arkansas scholarships

by Talk Business & Politics staff ([email protected]) 369 views 

The Massey Family Charitable Foundation has committed $2 million to the Advance Arkansas scholarship fund at the University of Arkansas in Fayetteville, according to a press release from the UA.

Advance Arkansas scholarships are given out annually to Arkansas residents who show a history of academic success and community leadership, coupled with financial need, according to the UA. Preference is given to students who are first in their families to pursue a four-year college degree.

“Anne and I embrace [Chancellor] Joe Steinmetz’s vision of improving retention and graduation rates of Arkansans at the university,” Rick Massey, a UA alum, said in the release. “We normally make our donations anonymously, but we want to publically express how important we believe the Advance Arkansas scholarship program is to achieving Joe’s objective.”

The UA matches donations to Advance Arkansas, so the Massey Foundation’s $2 million endowment will generate twice the amount in student scholarships, according to the school.

“Rick and Anne Massey are incredible champions of the Advance Arkansas scholarship program, and their gift will make a significant impact on the lives of many students,” Chancellor Joe Steinmetz said in the release. “Retention and graduation are both key to advancing the number of degree-holding Arkansans in our state, and assisting our students financially helps make these goals possible. We are very thankful for the Masseys’ generous contribution and vocal support of this initiative.”

Rick Massey is a 1984 graduate of the UA School of Law. He is a member of the Campaign Arkansas Steering Committee and the Campaign Arkansas Athletics committee and serves on the Razorback Foundation Board of Directors.

Anne Massey is a 1983 graduate of the J. William Fulbright College of Arts and Sciences with a bachelor’s degree in political science. The Masseys are counted as Thoroughreds for their four years of consecutive giving to the university, according to the UA.