ATU-Ozark students win awards at recent competitions

by The City Wire staff ( 16 views 

Twenty-seven Arkansas Tech University-Ozark Campus students earned awards at either the SkillsUSA Arkansas State Conference in Hot Springs, the Arkansas Licensed Practical Nurses Association (ALPNA) Spring Skills Competition in Hope or Arkansas Phi Beta Lambda (PBL) State Leadership Conference in Little Rock.

“We are proud of all of our participants,” Bruce Sikes, chancellor of Arkansas Tech-Ozark Campus, said in a statement. “Our commitment to provide career readiness is evident by the participation of faculty and students in these competitions, and our ability to provide excellence shows with these honors.”

The following are the names of Skills USA winning students, their program of study, competition category and place:
Kerry Russell of Van Buren (Air Conditioning and Refrigeration), HVACR: first;
Matt Marsh of Booneville (Automotive Service Technology), parts specialist: first;
Hayden Bolding of Hot Springs (AST), automotive service: second;
Joe Turner of Paris (AST), parts specialist: second;
Edwin Hesslen of Paris (Computer Information Systems), team web design: first;
Nathan Mitchell of Charleston (CIS), team web design: first;
Matthew Mounts of Ozark (CIS), technical computer applications: first;
Kyle Domerese of Clarksville (Collision Repair Technology), collision repair: second;
Trevor Dewitt of Paris (CRT), automotive refinishing: third;
Karli Haley of Russellville (Cosmetology, Arkansas Tech Career Center), cosmetology novice: second;
Andrew Hansen of Lamar (Culinary Arts, Arkansas Tech Career Center), restaurant service: first;
Dustin Hillard of Ozark (Industrial Control Systems), electronic technology, second;
Matthew McCartney of Paris (ICS), electronic technology, third;
Dewie O’Bar of Mulberry (Welding Technology), welding fabrication: first;
Blake Becker of Paris (WT), welding fabrication: first;
Jerry Scroggins of Spiro, Okla. (WT), welding fabrication: first;
Jeffrey Bartlett of Van Buren (WT), welding fabrication: second;
Terry Bartlett of Alma (WT), welding fabrication: second;
Derek Miner of Lavaca (WT), welding fabrication: second;
William Bachman of Hagarville (WT), welding: first;
Richard Cagle of Mulberry (WT), welding: third.

The following are the ALPNA winning students, their program of study, competition category and place:
Jonathan Estep of Clarksville (Practical Nursing), talent: first;
Mark Ruff of Scranton (PN), anatomy/physiology: first;
Megan Evans of Charleston (PN), CPR-team: third;
Amanda McCabe of Alma (PN), CPR-team: third.

The following are the PBL winning students, their program of study, competition category and place:
Leora Moore of Cedarville (Business Technology), retail management: first;
Dawn Smith of Ozark (BT), project management: third.

Debbie Wofford of Ozark, business technology program chair, was also awarded PBL Outstanding Local Chapter Adviser of the Year Award.