ATU-Ozark approved for satellite tech center

by The City Wire staff ( 3 views 

The Arkansas Department of Career Education on Thursday (Feb. 7) approved a satellite technical center in Clarksville for Arkansas Tech University-Ozark Campus, pending funding approval by the state legislature.

ATU-Ozark has overseen a technical-training center in Russellville, the Arkansas Tech Career Center (ATCC), since 2011.

ATCC enrolls students from 11 area high schools in Pope, Yell and Johnson counties, including Russellville, Dover, Pottsville, Hector, Atkins, Dardanelle, Danville, Two Rivers, Western Yell County, Lamar and Clarksville high schools.

ATU-Ozark Chancellor Jo Alice Blondin said, “Approval of the Clarksville site provides students at Johnson County Westside and Scranton with much needed access to technical skills, and makes technical training more accessible for students at Clarksville and Lamar.”

ATCC Director Pat Edmunds said, “I appreciate the Arkansas Department of Career Education State Board for their support and conditional approval for the addition of an Arkansas Tech Career Center satellite located in Clarksville.”
Formerly known as the Arkansas Career and Technical Center, this school year ATCC is celebrating its 40th anniversary of providing occupational education for high school students in the River Valley. A celebration is set for April 4. Details will be announced at a later date.