Arkansas Research Alliance adds 7 new members

by Talk Business & Politics staff ([email protected]) 595 views 

The Arkansas Research Alliance (ARA) officially inducted on Friday (Aug. 11) seven new members to the ARA Academy of Scholars and Fellows, the largest class in ARA’s 15-year history.

The ceremony expanded the membership of the ARA Academy to 34 research scientists and engineers working across six institutions in Arkansas, which include five research universities and the state’s largest federal lab.

Six of the new members are designated as ARA Fellows – researchers already resident in Arkansas and are being recognized for their exemplary contributions to the state’s scientific enterprise. In addition to membership to the ARA Academy, each new Fellow receives a $75,000 grant to advance their research vision.

The seventh member is designated an ARA Scholar – a strategic research leader recruited to Arkansas and awarded a $500,000 grant to accelerate their impact. ARA Scholars and Fellows are nominated by their Chancellors to build on the state’s strategic research competencies. Current research projects include drug development, stem cell research, cutting edge membrane technology and more.

ARA Scholars
John Imig, UAMS, Chair of the Department of Pharmaceutical Sciences

ARA Fellows
Antiño Allen, UAMS, Associate Professor of the Department of Pharmaceutical Sciences
Heather Nachtmann, UA, Professor of Industrial Engineering
Igor Pogribny, NCTR, Research Biologist of the Division of Biochemical Toxicology
Grace Ramena, UAPB, Associate Professor, Director, Fish Health and Disease Diagnostics
Jianfeng “Jay” Xu, A-State, Research Professor of the Arkansas Biosciences Institute
Mary Yang, UA Little Rock, Associate Professor of Information Science

“Arkansas’ opportunities in the knowledge economy depend on a talented research workforce. The ARA Academy represents the vanguard of intellectual capital that helps the entire state be more globally competitive.” said Bryan Barnhouse, President and CEO of ARA. “The seven new members added today help our state reach its fullest potential through their creativity, vision, and collaboration.”

The new members represent ARA partners, including the University of Arkansas (UA), Arkansas State University (A-State), the University of Arkansas for Medical Sciences (UAMS), the University of Arkansas at Little Rock (UA Little Rock), the University of Arkansas at Pine Bluff (UABP), and the U.S. FDA’s National Center for Toxicological Research (NCTR):

Founded in 2008, ARA is a 501(c)3 organization governed by a board of trustees comprised of chancellors from Arkansas research universities and chief executives from companies across the state.