10 candidates file for open Crawford County positions; no Democrats file for top jobs

by Talk Business & Politics staff ([email protected]) 2,340 views 

With three incumbents not seeking reelection, the top seven elected positions in Crawford County drew a large slate of Republican candidates and no Democrats. The GOP primary will be the election for County Judge, Sheriff and County Clerk.

According to information from Crawford County Clerk Jo Wester, the County Judge candidates are Republicans Raymond Harvey, Chris Keith, and Scott Overby. County Judge Dennis Gilstrap is not seeking reelection.

County Sheriff candidates are Republicans Shannon Gregory, James Mirus, Daniel Perry, and Wayne Sandusky. Sheriff Jimmy Damante is not running for reelection.

The County Clerk candidates are Republicans Stacey Shelley, Tim Walker, and Anthony Whitman. Wester also is not seeking reelection.

Circuit Clerk Sharon Blount-Baker, a Republican, is running unopposed, as are Republicans Collector Kevin Pixley, Assessor Sandra Heiner and Coroner Pam Wells. Republican Daniel Watson is running unopposed for County Treasurer.

Kevin Holmes and Robert Presley II are candidates in the non-partisan election for Crawford County Prosecuting Attorney. Prosecutor Rinda Baker is not seeking reelection. Presley is the chief deputy prosecuting attorney in the county. Holmes is a former deputy city prosecutor for Van Buren and is a founding member of Van Buren-based Hopkins & Holmes law firm.

District 1
Robert Arnold, Republican
Sherry Marshall, Democrat

District 2
Lonnie Myers, Republican

District 3
Chase Hall DeCroo, Republican
Morgan Morgan, Republican

District 4
Lloyd Cole, Republican
Michael Morrison, Republican

District 5
Brad Martin, Republican

District 6
Mark Shaffer, Republican

District 7
Lonnie Jennings, Republican
Cole Weese, Republican

District 8
Tia Woodruff, Republican

District 9
Jason Cox, Republican

District 10
John Hall, Independent
Jayson Peppas, Republican
Kevin Peters, Republican

District 11
Daniel Keeton, Republican

District 12
Mitchell Carolan, Republican

District 13
Roger Atwell, Republican
Brandon Herring, Republican