The Venture Center names 40 to its inaugural VCWoman Achieve mentorship program

by Talk Business & Politics staff ([email protected]) 544 views 

The Venture Center named on Tuesday (Nov. 9) the 40 members of its inaugural VCWoman Achieve mentorship program. VCWoman Achieve is a statewide mentorship program bringing Arkansas’ women entrepreneurs the opportunity to develop life-changing relationships to drive professional growth, according to The Venture Center.

A coalition of government agencies, private businesses and nonprofits came together to provide the program’s foundation, bringing experience, tools, and access to resources. Program partners are the Arkansas Economic Development Commission, Wright Lindsey Jennings, Venture Noire, Arkansas Capital Corp, Women’s Foundation of Arkansas, THV11, and Soiree Women’s Leadership Symposium.

“All of these incredible organizations came together with the desire to make a bigger impact for the women entrepreneurs of Arkansas. Now is the time to champion these women who are blazing a trail for the next generation. We are grateful for the partnerships and program participants that will lift women, entrepreneurship, and the entire state,” said Mimi San Pedro, Chief Strategy Officer of The Venture Center.

Over 120 applicants from across the state applied to participate in the program.

A “match” day is scheduled for early December and will connect mentors with their mentees. Beginning January 4, matched mentors and mentees will set goals and perform assessments monthly, and meet quarterly with subject matter experts equipped to address a range of business challenges and opportunities.

Mentees will compete for up to $10,000, earning scores based on the quality of engagement and effort throughout the year-long program. In December 2022, mentees will graduate from the program with new skills and networks to keep successfully managing and growing their businesses.

The mentors and mentees include the following.

Srividya Venkatasubramanya
Christina Ortiz
Tamara Williams
Chung Tan
Zoraida Aguilar
Ayla Parvu
Lenita Mays
Errin Stanger
Lisa Hemme
Joy Springer
Kendra Pruitt
Jean Block
Tracy Ring
Itzel Meador
Lisa Ferrell
Keneasha Scott
Marta Collier-Youngblood
Brooke Vines
Latanyua Robinson
Caroline Devoy

Sheri Hawn
Beth Pittman
Toshia Hogan
Cat Hutchings
Victoria McDaniels
Yuri Richardson
Sarah Stricklin
Sarita Robinson
Alicia Adams-Talbert
Chris Peralta
Wendy Bryant
Ar’Jillian Gilmer
Clarissa Pace
Kathleen Lawson
Jessica Hester
Jeanette Plazola
Mary Beth Boyle
Wendy Cathey
LaTeasha Gaither-Davis
Shalauna Rack