Arkansas Research Alliance adds 6 to board of trustees

by Roby Brock ([email protected]) 665 views 

The Arkansas Research Alliance (ARA) announced Tuesday (Oct. 19) the addition of six new members to its board of trustees. They include:

  • Chris Barber, President and CEO, St. Bernards Healthcare;
  • Curtis Barnett, President and CEO, Arkansas Blue Cross and Blue Shield;
  • Marty Casteel, President and CEO (Retired), Simmons Bank;
  • Mary Ward, Chief People Officer, Acxiom;
  • Barbara Sugg, President and CEO, Southwest Power Pool; and
  • Dr. Charles Robinson, Acting Chancellor, University of Arkansas.

“ARA board members represent companies and institutions that prize university-based research and innovation as a gateway to the state’s future,” said Jerry Adams, President of ARA. “This leadership group enables us to build on the world class scientific expertise in the state.”

ARA facilitates collaborations between Arkansas’ six primary research institutions – the University of Arkansas (UA), the University of Arkansas for Medical Sciences (UAMS), Arkansas State University (A-State), University of Arkansas at Little Rock (UA Little Rock), the University of Arkansas at Pine Bluff (UAPB), and the National Center for Toxicological Research (NCTR).

The board of trustees is comprised of leaders from the private business sector and the chancellors of Arkansas’ five major research universities, which together account for 92% of all federal research funds to the state.