UA Little Rock, Clinton School partner on concurrent social work masters

by Talk Business & Politics staff ([email protected]) 414 views 

The University of Arkansas Clinton School of Public Service and University of Arkansas at Little Rock have announced a partnership on a new concurrent degree program. Students pursuing a Master of Public Service (MPS) at the Clinton School may now earn a concurrent Master of Social Work (MSW) through the UA Little Rock School of Social Work.

“I’m thrilled about the partnership with the School of Social Work,” said Clinton School Academic Dean Susan Hoffpauir, who was once a faculty member in the School of Social Work. “It’s such a perfect fit for students in both programs, and many have already reached out for more information.”

The concurrent degree program will allow for cross-credit of specified courses, resulting in a savings in the total number of credit hours that would be required for both degrees if completed separately. A student in the concurrent MPS-MSW program must complete all the requirements for the MSW degree as specified by the School of Social Work and all requirements for the MPS degree as specified by the Clinton School.

The UA Little Rock School of Social Work graduates more social work students than any other social work program in Arkansas. Its MSW program is nationally accredited by the Council on Social Work Education.

“I am excited about the opportunity to work with the Clinton School. Students who graduate from the concurrent program will have a unique set of skills that they will bring to their communities,” said Catherine Crisp, associate professor and MSW program coordinator. “I’ve met with several students who are interested in the program and I am excited to begin working with them.”

The MPS-MSW program is the fourth concurrent degree program offered through the Clinton School and partnering University of Arkansas System schools.

The Clinton School’s MPS can also be earned concurrently with a Juris Doctor (JD) from the University of Arkansas at Little Rock William H. Bowen School of Law, a Master of Public Health (MPH) from the University of Arkansas for Medical Sciences Fay W. Boozman College of Public Health, or a Master of Business Administration (MBA) from the University of Arkansas, Fayetteville Sam M. Walton College of Business.