A dozen new Arkansas listings added to National Register of Historic Places

by Talk Business & Politics staff ([email protected]) 1,078 views 

Arkansas has added a dozen new listings to the National Register of Historic Places, according to state officials.

The Arkansas Historic Preservation Program (AHPP) received word this week from the National Park Service, which oversees the program, of the announcement of new listings in eight counties.

“Our National Register historians put together compelling presentations to the National Park Service showcasing a well-rounded slate of Arkansas properties,” says Arkansas Heritage Director Jimmy Bryant. “From a cemetery to a railroad depot; and from homes with unique architectural features to places of worship, these sites illustrate our state’s history and diversity.”

The listings include:

  • Bella Vista Village Country Club (Benton County), designed by famed architect E. Fay Jones
  • Highway A-1 Bridge (Conway County), listed in the Historic Bridges of Arkansas Multiple Property Submission (MPS)
  • City Cemetery (Garland County)
  • Spring-Harrison Historic District (Ouachita County)
  • Perry Rock Island Railroad Depot (Perry County), listed in the Historic Railroad Depts of Arkansas MPS Depots
  • Irvin and Elizabeth Daniel House (Pulaski County)
  • Locust Street Overpass (Pulaski County)
  • Newbill-Porter House (Pulaski County)
  • Oak Forest United Methodist Church (Pulaski County)
  • Millett, Robert and Marion, House No. 1 (Pulaski County)
  • United Hebrew Congregation Tilles Memorial Temple (Sebastian County)
  • Morrow Farmstead (Washington County)

“In addition to the hard work of our historians, we truly appreciate the dedication of our State Review Board, which spend hours reviewing the nominated properties,” said Scott Kaufman, AHPP director. “The board meets three times a year and provides insight on history and architecture. Board members often challenge our team to nominate even more.”