Small museum grants awarded to 33 organizations

by Talk Business & Politics staff ([email protected]) 509 views 

Thirty-three organizations from around Arkansas received a Small Museum Grant from the Department of Arkansas Heritage (DAH) at a ceremony held at DAH’s headquarters in Little Rock on July 24.

The grants ranged in size from $1,910 to $2,425 for each institution and will fund such things as operations, exhibit development and archival storage.

“There is so much rich history in every corner of the state, and many small museums with wonderful volunteers, who are passionate about telling their local stories,” said Stacy Hurst, secretary of the Department of Parks, Heritage & Tourism. “We are delighted to provide support for those endeavors.”

Grants were announced for the following organizations:

1. Ozark Foothills African-American History Museum, Twin Groves, $1,940
2. Boone County Historical & Railroad Society, Harrison, $2,425
3. Buffalo Island Museum, Monette, $2,425
4. Calico Rock Museum & Visitor Center, Calico Rock, $2,425
5. Cherokee Village Historical Society, Cherokee Village, $2,425
6. Altus Heritage House Museum, Altus, $2,425
7. Fairfield Bay Heritage Center, Fairfield Bay, $1,225
8. MacArthur Museum of Arkansas Military History, Little Rock, $2,425
9. Cotton Plant Historical Museum, Cotton Plant, $2,230
10. Cross County Historical Society, Wynne, $2,425
11. Dermott Historical Museum, Dermott, $2,425
12. Desha County Museum, Dumas, $1,850
13. Delta Gateway Museum, Blytheville, $1475
14. Eureka Springs Historical Museum, Eureka Springs, $2,425
15. Faulkner County Museum, Conway, $1,820
16. Randolph County Heritage Museum, Pocahontas, $2,425
17. Fort Smith Heritage Foundation/Clayton House, Fort Smith, $2,425
18. Greene County Historical and Genealogical Society, Paragould, $2,400
19. Helena Museum of Phillips County, Helena, $2,425
20. Hot Spring County Museum, Malvern, $2,425
21. Hot Spring County Historical Society, Malvern, $2,425
22. Howard County Historical Society, Nashville, $2,425
23. Johnson County Historical Society & Heritage Center, Clarksville, $2,395
24. Lonoke County Museum, Lonoke, $1,910
25. Manila Depot Committee, Manila, $2,425
26. Nevada County Depot & Museum, Prescott, $2,425
27. Old Independence Regional Museum, Batesville, $1,980
28. Rector Community Museum, Rector, $2,425
29. Saunders Memorial Museum, Berryville, $2,425
30. Siloam Springs Museum, Siloam Springs, $2,425
31. Texarkana Museums System, Texarkana, $2425
32. Wings of Honor Museum, Walnut Ridge, $2,425
33. Washington County Historical Society, Fayetteville, $2,425

To be eligible for the grants, applicants had to be non-profit museums or historical societies with annual operating budgets of up to $250,000 and at least one staff person, either paid or unpaid.

Staff time must be devoted primarily to the care of the museum and its collections, and the museum must be open to the public at least 90 days per year.