Five Democrats file for House District 36 seat

by Talk Business & Politics staff ([email protected]) 828 views 

The vacancy created by the resignation of Rep. Charles Blake, D-Little Rock, in House District 36 has drawn five Democratic candidates.

Blake resigned the seat in May to serve as chief of staff to Little Rock Mayor Frank Scott, Jr.

On Friday (June 7), the filing period closed with five Democrats and no Republican or other candidates for the Arkansas House of Representatives seat.

The five challengers are:

Denise Ennett, Homemaker
Phillip Hood, State Workers’ Compensation law clerk
Darrell Stephens, Businessman
Roderick Talley, Barber
Russell R. Williams, III, College student

The district includes parts of downtown Little Rock, east Little Rock, and southeast Pulaski County. The winner of the Democratic primary will serve out the remainder of Blake’s term of office, which runs through January 2021.

The special primary election will be held August 6. A run-off election, if needed, will be held September 3. The general election will be held on November 5, 2019.