Business leaders to meet in Little Rock for advanced energy conference

by Talk Business & Politics staff ([email protected]) 687 views 

The Arkansas Advanced Energy Association (AAEA) will welcome business leaders, utility executives, policy makers and regulators, and other industry stakeholders to its seventh annual meeting and policy conference Tuesday (Oct. 9) in Little Rock. The meeting convenes at 10 a.m. at Heifer International.

“Arkansas’s advanced energy leaders are playing a key role in our state’s economy as more Arkansas businesses, households and communities seek the benefits of advanced energy technologies and services,” AAEA Executive Director Katie Laning Niebaum said. “Arkansas has seen a growing adoption of advanced energy resources in a few short years and has the potential to significantly ramp up deployments in the immediate future.”

The AAEA will welcome Gov. Asa Hutchinson and Democratic challenger, Jared Henderson, as well as Congressman French Hill and Democratic challenger for the Second Congressional District seat, State Rep. Clarke Tucker, as special guest speakers.

The keynote luncheon speaker is David Wilhelm of Hecate Energy, a developer of large-scale renewable energy projects around the globe.

Three panel discussions will also be presented. Topics include the growing demand for advanced energy in Arkansas, innovative energy efficiency initiatives at work in the state and the landscape for emerging technologies, including storage. Expected to participate in those discussions are:

  • Lamar Davis, executive director of government and regulatory affairs, MISO
  • Andrew Owens, director of regulatory research, Entergy Corp.
  • Ted Thomas, chairman, Arkansas Public Service Commission
  • Mark Cayce, general manager, Ouachita Electric Cooperative Corp.
  • Sherry McCormack, Energy Efficiency Manager, SWEPCO
  • John Ware, director of energy efficiency programs, AOG
  • Keith Canfield, portfolio manager, CLEAResult
  • Michael Hester, superintendent, Batesville School District
  • J. Hood, farmer/farm manager, Tillar & Co.
  • Mark Lundy, director, South Arkansas Telephone Co.
  • Douglas Hutchings, CEO, Picasolar

The 2018 Arkansas Advanced Energy Awards finalists will also be recognized and the winners announced during the luncheon program. Finalists include:

Ron Bell Advanced Energy Leadership Award: Recognizing an individual with a strong record of outstanding and consistent contributions to Arkansas’s advanced energy industry, whose work is having a significant, sustainable impact on the industry.

  • J. Hood, farmer/farm manager, Tillar & Co.
  • Chris Ladner, founding partner, Entegrity
  • Alan Mantooth, Ph.D., distinguished professor, University of Arkansas at Fayetteville

Rising Star Award: Recognizing a “rising star” within the industry for contributions to his/her organization and/or growing impact on the industry.

  • Josh Davenport, co-Founder & CEO, Seal Energy Solutions
  • Jennah Denney, marketing & public relations coordinator, Today’s Power
  • Nick Gorden, CEO, Shine Solar
  • Parker Higgs, director of energy engineering, Entegrity
  • Alex Ray, business development executive, Johnson Controls

Business Innovation Award: Recognizing an AAEA member company for courage, savvy and innovation to expand the market for its products and/or services.

  • ACE Glass Manufacturing Inc.
  • Johnson Controls Inc.
  • Ozark Integrated Circuits
  • Seal Energy Solutions
  • Shine Solar
  • Solar & Renewable Power Systems
  • Today’s Power Inc.