Arkansas board to consider 14 properties to submit for National Register of Historic Places

by Jennifer Joyner ( 156 views 

The State Review Board of the Arkansas Historic Preservation Program will consider 14 Arkansas properties for nomination to the National Register of Historic Places in its regular meeting Dec. 6 at the Department of Arkansas Heritage Building in Little Rock.

A list of properties to be considered follows.

  • Arkansas Teachers Association Headquarters Building and Professional Service Building at Little Rock in Pulaski County
  • College Avenue Historic District at Conway in Faulkner County
  • Greenwood School at Hot Springs in Garland County
  • Robert Wanslow House, Fitzgerald Historic District and Elmwood Cemetery at Fort Smith in Sebastian County
  • L. Leach Grocery Store at Dutch Mills in Washington County
  • Highfill Community Building at Highfill in Benton County
  • Gentry Grand Army of the Republic Monument at Gentry in Benton County
  • Green Valley Homestead at Sturkie in Fulton County
  • Johnny Cash Boyhood Home at Dyess in Mississippi County
  • Blytheville Air Force Base Strategic Arms Command (SAC) Alert and Weapons Storage Areas Historic District at Blytheville in Mississippi County
  • Sherman Mound in Mississippi County.

At the state level, the board will also consider Edwards Chapel at Russellville in Pope County, Lafayette School Gymnasium at Camden in Ouachita County, Lake June at Stamps in Lafayette County and Captain Daniel Matthews House at Osceola in Mississippi County for listing on the Arkansas Register of Historic Places. The Arkansas Register recognizes historically significant properties that do not meet National Register requirements, according to the organization.

The Arkansas Historic Preservation Program is a division of the Department of Arkansas Heritage, tasked with identifying, evaluating, registering and preserving the state’s cultural resources.