AgHeritage Farm Credit Services Board of Directors names Pocahontas native as its chairman

by Talk Business & Politics staff ([email protected]) 262 views 

Farmer Dwain Morris of Pocahontas has been appointed chairman of AgHeritage Farm Credit Services by its board of directors.

Morris has been a board member since 1991. He farms corn, milo, rice, and soybeans on a 500-acre swath near his hometown. Morris serves on the organization’s executive committee, human resources committee, and state legislative committee. In addition, Morris is a member of the Randolph County Farm Bureau Board and the AgriBank District Farm Credit Council Board.

Morris will be joined on the board by newly appointed Vice-Chairman Jerry Burkett of Stuttgart.

Burkett has been a board member since 2002, and farms 262 acres of timber plus an additional 1,485 acres of rice, soybeans, and wheat. He serves on the executive committee, audit committee and the finance committee. Burkett also serves on the Arkansas County Farm Bureau Board and is a member of the Yoder Ruritan Club.

AgHeritage Farm Credit Services is a financial cooperative with owned and managed assets of approximately $1.15 billion as of December 31, 2016.

The organization provides credit and related services to more than 3,096 farmers, ranchers and producers or harvesters of aquatic products in 24 Arkansas counties. Branch offices are located in Batesville, Brinkley, Dermott, Lonoke, Newport, Pocahontas, Searcy, Star City and Stuttgart.