Jonesboro, Paragould Mayors on State Aid Street Committee

by Talk Business ([email protected]) 105 views 

Jonesboro Mayor Harold Perrin has been re-appointed to the State Aid Street Committee. State Sen. Jonathan Dismang, R-Beebe, president of the Senate, announced the appointment in a letter to Perrin. His new term will expire Dec. 31, 2019.

The State Aid City Street program was created by Act 982 of 1975 and was funded with federal Revenue Sharing funds until 1981, when the revenue sharing program was eliminated. Act 1032 of 2011 amended Arkansas code by establishing the State Aid City Street Program to be administered by a State Aid City Street Committee. Its responsibilities include determining which projects receive funding through the program.

On Nov. 6, 2012, Arkansas voters approved a constitutional amendment which temporarily increased the state sales tax to fund surface transportation improvements and permanently dedicated 1 cent per gallon of the existing motor fuel tax to the State Aid City Street Fund.

The State Aid Street committee receives requests and select the state aid street projects for submittal to the state aid engineer for funding and construction. State Aid City Streets are those that feed into local trade areas or into the state highway system but are not designated as state highways.

Paragould Mayor Mike Gaskill is also a member of the committee.