Hoop, There It Is!

by Talk Business & Politics staff ([email protected]) 245 views 

Arkansas lawmakers may take out the stress of a tense and frustrating day of private option action on the hard court tonight.

This evening, the Arkansas House of Representatives and the Arkansas Senate will play the second annual Hoops for Kids’ Sake, a charity basketball game to benefit Big Brothers Big Sisters of Central Arkansas and the Boys & Girls Club of Bryant and of Saline County.

The House and Senate rosters have been set for the game that will tip off at 7 p.m. at UALR’s Jack Stephens Center. General admission tickets are $10 and available at the door.

Here is the line-up for the Arkansas Senate:

Former Arkansas Razorback coach Nolan Richardson will serve as the coach for the Arkansas Senate. Senators Alan Clark, Joyce Elliott, Jake Files, Jim Hendren, Bart Hester, Jeremy Hutchinson, Missy Irvin, Johnny Key, Bobby Pierce, David Sanders, Larry Teague and Jon Woods will make up the core of the Senate roster. Senator Jonathan Dismang will serve as team captain.

Celebrity players and media personalities for the Senate include former Razorbacks Scotty Thurman and Blake Eddins, along with KTHV-11’s Mark Edwards and KATV-7’s Janelle Lilley.

Here is the line-up for the Arkansas House:

Current UALR assistant coach and former Razorback Joe Kleine and KATV-7 sports anchor Steve Sullivan will serve as coaches for the Arkansas House. The House roster includes representatives Eddie Armstrong, David Branscum, Speaker Davy Carter, Jim Dotson, David Fielding, Jeremy Gillam, Kim Hammer, Doug House, Alan Kerr, Fred Love, Kelley Linck, Mark Lowery, Stephanie Malone, Andy Mayberry, Mark McElroy, Reginald Murdock, Matthew Shepherd, Fred Smith, John Vines, Jeff Wardlaw, Bruce Westerman, Darrin Williams and Richard Womack. House chief of staff Gabe Holmstrom will also participate. Celebrity players and media personalities include former Razorbacks Pat Bradley and Quinn Grovey, KATV-7’s Robert Burton and KARK-4/KLRT-Fox 16’s David Goins.

David Bazzel and RJ Hawk, co-hosts of The Show With No Name on 103.7 The Buzz will provide pre-game introductions and in-game interviews. The Sunday Buzz host Bill Vickery and Beebe Spokesman Matt DeCample will provide color commentary. Ivon Granaldi will sing the national anthem and Chopper Ward will provide halftime entertainment.

Sponsors of the event include UALR, 103.7 The Buzz, Arkansas Association of Two-Year Colleges, Arkansas Athletic Trainers’ Association, ABRA, ARcare, Arkansas Farm Bureau, Arkansas Health and Wellness Solution, Arkansas Homebuilders Association/Arkansas Builders and Contractors, Arkansas Hospital Association, Arkansas Poultry Federation, Arkansas State Chamber of Commerce, Arkansas Trial Lawyers Association, AT&T, Blue Cross Blue Shield, Cox Communications, CJRW, Rusty Cranford, DBH Management Consultants, Delek, Delta Dental, Deltic Timber, Entergy, Impact Management Group, Kum & Go, Mullenix & Associates, Southland Park Gaming and Racing, Southwestern Energy, Walmart and Windstream.