Sixteen Groups Win Governor’s Quality Awards

by Stephanie Baker ([email protected]) 74 views 

Sixteen organizations from across Arkansas were presented Arkansas Governor’s Quality Awards during the 19th Annual Awards banquet on Monday night.

The event, held at the Marriott Hotel in downtown Little Rock, included more than 300 business and civic leaders and was spearheaded by the Arkansas State Chamber of Commerce. Talk Business Arkansas executive editor Roby Brock emceed the event.

The awards involve an in-depth evaluation of a company’s management systems and a written feedback report citing strengths and areas for improvement. Industry-specific seminars were held last year for manufacturing, healthcare and insurance/financial services.

The goal of the Governor’s Quality Award Program is to encourage businesses to engage in continuous quality improvement in an effort to improve company performance, a stronger workforce, and more profitability.

Veterans Health Care System of the Ozarks in Fayetteville took top honors in receiving the Governor’s Award for Performance Excellence.

The Achievement Level Award was presented to: Arkansas Department of Workforce Services, Little Rock; Arkansas Foundation for Medical Care, Little Rock; Conway Regional Health System, Conway; J.V. Manufacturing, Inc., Springdale; Arkansas National Guard Professional Education Center, North Little Rock; and Saline Memorial Hospital, Benton.

Organizations receiving the Commitment Level Award were: UCA’s Community Development Institute – Central, Conway; Cones Family Medicine, Little Rock; DD&F Consulting Group, Inc., Little Rock; Mainline Health Systems, Inc., Dermott; North Arkansas College, Harrison; and Spring Creek Health and Rehabilitation, Cabot.

Organizations receiving the Challenge Level Award were: BancorpSouth Insurance Services, Inc., Arkansas Region; Beebe Retirement Center; and Webster University, Little Rock Area.

Special recognition was given to Lockheed Martin Missiles and Fire Control Camden Operations for receiving the 2012 Baldrige National Quality Award.

For more information, go to