Bill Clinton To Be Awarded Presidential Medal Of Freedom

by Talk Business & Politics staff ([email protected]) 75 views 

President Barack Obama named Bill Clinton and fifteen others recipients of the Presidential Medal of Freedom on Thursday (Aug. 8).

The honor is given to individuals who have made especially meritorious contributions to the security or national interests of the United States, to world peace, or to cultural or other significant public or private endeavors.

The awards will be presented at the White House later this year.

The other 15 individuals to be awarded the Presidential Medal of Freedom include:
Ernie Banks, Ben Bradlee, Daniel Inouye, Daniel Kahneman, Richard Lugar, Loretta Lynn, Mario Molina, Sally Ride, Bayard Rustin, Arturo Sandoval, Dean Smith, Gloria Steinem, Cordy Tindell “C.T.” Vivian, Patricia Wald and Oprah Winfrey.