Greg Phillips Named Main Street Arkansas Director

by Talk Business & Politics staff ( 39 views 

Greg Phillips, a 15-year veteran of the Main Street Arkansas downtown development program, has been named the new director of Main Street Arkansas, Arkansas Historic Preservation Program Director Frances McSwain announced today.

Main Street Arkansas is a program area of the Arkansas Historic Preservation Program.

Phillips has been assistant director of the Main Street Arkansas program since 1997 and has been involved with the 17 Main Street Arkansas communities and the 12 cities in the Arkansas Downtown Network throughout his career.

Prior to joining the Main Street Arkansas team, Phillips worked with the Arkansas Symphony Orchestra, the Peoria, Illinois, Symphony Orchestra, and the Peoria Ballet Company.

Phillips graduated from Ouachita Baptist University and from the University of Central Arkansas’s Community Development Institute and has completed the Arkansas Governmental Manager Program, the Arkansas Certified Public Manager Program and the Arkansas Certified Volunteer Manager Program.

Phillips succeeds Cary Tyson, who was promoted to deputy director of the Arkansas Historic Preservation Program, as director of Main Street Arkansas.

Main Street Arkansas provides technical assistance and design services to help create economic development in the state’s downtown areas.

Cities currently involved in Main Street Arkansas are Batesville, Blytheville, Dumas, El Dorado, Eureka Springs, Hardy, Helena, Little Rock’s South Main Street (SoMa), Osceola, Ozark, Paragould, Rogers, Russellville, Searcy, Siloam Springs, Texarkana and West Memphis.

Members of Main Street’s Arkansas Downtown Network are Pine Bluff, Heber Springs, Fort Smith, DeWitt, Morrilton, Rector, Jonesboro, Monticello, Arkadelphia, Clarksville, Warren and Wynne.