Romney Cruises, Republicans Sweep All 4 Congressional Seats

by Roby Brock ( 4 views 

Arkansas Republicans made history on election night with historic victories in all four of the state’s Congressional districts.

Reps. Rick Crawford, Tim Griffin and Steve Womack coasted to victories in their re-election bids just two years after their inaugural wins and despite Congressional redistricting controlled by a Democratic state legislature.

Newcomer Tom Cotton, the GOP nominee in the Fourth District, ran away in his race against Democrat Gene Jeffress and two third party candidates.

The vote tallies were:

District 1:
56.8% – Rick Crawford (R)
38.5% – Scott Ellington (D)
2.6% – Jessica Paxton (L)
2.1% – Jacob Holloway (G)

District 2:
55.2% – Tim Griffin (R)
39.5% – Herb Rule (D)
3% – Barbara Ward (G)
2.3% – Chris Hayes (L)

District 3:
76% – Steve Womack (R)
16% – Rebekah Kennedy (G)
8.1% – David Pangrac (L)

District 4:
59.4% – Tom Cotton (R)
36.9% – Gene Jeffress (D)
1.9% – Bobby Tullis (L)
1.8% – Joshua Drake (G)

Republican Presidential nominee Mitt Romney also earned Arkansas’ 6 electoral votes with ease over Pres. Barack Obama winning by a 61-37% margin.