Hubbard Endorses Neal; Slams Burris In RPA First Vice-Chairman Election (UPDATED – Neal Wins)

by Jason Tolbert ( 19 views 

Although Rep. Jon Hubbard is soon to be a former state representative after he lost his re-election campaign when some very ill-advised remarks surfaced, he is still hanging around and sending out his emails. how to get your ex back

This week, he took to his keyboard to send out a word of support for Duane Neal for his re-election for first vice chairman of the Republican Party of Arkansas and take some shots at his House colleague Rep. John Burris for supporting Rep. Davy Carter in his Speaker's race.

“You will soon witness first hand the results of how Mike Beebe moved to retain his control over the AR House of Representatives by manipulating the choice of Speaker of the House,” writes Hubbard. “Can you imagine his total elation if he learns that the RPA has chosen one who was instrumental in giving him back his control over the House, to become 1st Vice Chair of the RPA itself?”

Hubbard is not the only one criticizing Burris for supporting Carter.  The Tolbert Report has received several emails including one from Neal who addressed the subject.

“Several legislators that I have talked with are pretty unhappy about the coalition of a few Republicans and about 45 Democrat Legislators, led by John Burris, to deny Terry Rice the election of Speaker of the House. In my opinion, we should support our party rather than teaming up with Democrats,” wrote Neal in an email to a member of the RPA.

The unusually heated race for first vice-chairman of the party will take place Saturday morning when the party meets in Hot Springs for their annual meeting.  No one is expected to challenge current Chairman Doyle Webb in his re-election.

I will not be able to attend but will update with the results of this election and the meeting tomorrow if I get some reports.

UPDATE – I am told Duane Neal won in a close race for first vice chairman.  Doyle Webb was elected to a third term as chairman. Robin Lunstrum was re-elected second vice chairman; John Parke for treasurer; and Jennifer Parks for secretary.