Little Rock Port Authority elects officers; Clay McGeorge elected as chair

by Talk Business & Politics staff ([email protected]) 40 views 

The Little Rock Port Authority Board of Directors met Wednesday (June 12) and voted to elect its new slate of officers. Clay McGeorge will serve as chair; and Stan Hastings will serve as vice-chair treasurer. Tamika Edwards will serve as treasurer.

“We congratulate the new officers and look forward to their success,” said Bryan Day, executive director of the Little Rock Port Authority. “We extend a special sense of gratitude to Bobby Brown for his service as chair the last two years, as well as his continued service as a board member, and know that Clay McGeorge will lead the Port as it looks to open its first supersite soon.”

The Port of Little Rock is led by the Little Rock Port Authority Board of Directors which is comprised of seven members appointed by the Mayor of Little Rock and confirmed by the Little Rock Board of Directors.

Current members include Clay McGeorge, Stan Hastings, Tamika S. Edwards, Bobby Brown, Melissa Hendricks, Keith Harvey and Dexter Doyne. Brown joins Hendricks and Doyne as past chairs of the board and will remain on the board.

Established in 1959, the Port of Little Rock is an intermodal transportation center featuring a 4,000-acre industrial park, two full-service river terminals, its own switching railroad and a slackwater harbor on the 448-mile McClellan-Kerr Arkansas River Navigation System.

The Port is designated as a U.S. Customs Point of Entry and Foreign Trade Zone 14.