A-State names interim deans; ASU System announces Welch Presidential scholars

by Talk Business & Politics staff ([email protected]) 101 views 

Interim deans of the College of Education and Behavioral Science and the Graduate School have been named at Arkansas State University, effective July 1, Dr. Calvin White Jr., executive vice chancellor and provost said.

Dr. Annette Hux will become interim dean of the College of Education and Behavioral Science. Her appointment follows the retirement of Dr. Mary Jane Bradley, who has served as dean since 2016.

“Since 2022, Dr. Hux has demonstrated a record of leadership as chair of the Department of Educational Leadership, Curriculum and Special Education,” White said. “I appreciate her taking on the interim dean role during this time of transition. We will conduct a national search for the dean position over the next academic year; internal candidates will be welcome to apply.”

“I am deeply honored to step into the role of interim dean,” Hux said. “I am dedicated to maintaining our standards of academic excellence, nurturing a supportive atmosphere for our faculty, and advancing our innovative endeavors. Together, we will navigate this transitional period with determination, ensuring continued success for our college.”

Hux joined A-State in 2009 as an adjunct professor before becoming a full-time faculty member in 2011. Prior to her current position she served as assistant department chair for 11 years.

Dr. Brad Rawlins will take on the role of interim dean at A-State’s Graduate School.

“Dr. Rawlins has served A-State in a number of administrative roles and currently serves as interim dean of the College of Liberal Arts and Communication. A national search for the dean position will begin this fall,” said White.

“I am honored to serve in this interim dean capacity until a permanent dean is selected for the Graduate School. Graduate education is so vital to the mission of A-State, particularly with its success as a research institution,” said Rawlins.

Rawlins joined A-State in 2012 as dean of the College of Communication. In his time with the university, he also served as chief academic officer for Campus Querétaro and inaugural director of the School of Media and Journalism.

“Our graduate programs serve thousands of students from Arkansas and beyond, including many international students who come to A-State seeking its quality graduate programs. I hope to continue the momentum of the Graduate School for as long as I am in this role,” he said.

Five graduates of Arkansas State University System two-year institutions have been selected as the first Charles L. Welch Presidential Scholars.

The Presidential Scholars program was created earlier this year to honor the legacy of Welch, President Emeritus of the ASU System, for his nearly 13 years of service. The annual program will recognize and honor a deserving scholar from each ASU System two-year institution who transfers successfully to an ASU System four-year university. Each of this year’s honorees will receive a $1,000 stipend.

The inaugural Welch Presidential Scholars are:

ASU-Beebe – Asia Simmons of Jacksonville. She received an Associate of Science in Criminal Justice and will transfer to Arkansas State University in Jonesboro to pursue a bachelor’s degree in social work.

ASU-Mountain Home – Hunter Lakin Woods of Bryant. He received an Associate of Arts degree and will transfer to Henderson State University to pursue a bachelor’s degree in human health and performance.

ASU-Newport – Cassidy Chrestman Powers of Harrisburg. She received an Associate of Arts in Liberal Arts and will transfer to A-State to pursue a nursing career.

ASU Mid-South – Remonie Whitelow of West Memphis. She received an Associate of Science in Elementary Education and will transfer to A-State to pursue a bachelor’s degree in elementary education.

ASU Three Rivers – Elisabeth Brenna Michael of Magnet Cove. She received an Associate of Arts in General Studies and will transfer to A-State to pursue healthcare studies.

“We are thrilled to recognize these first Welch Presidential Scholars,” Interim System President Robin Myers said. “It’s an outstanding class of individuals who represent academic excellence and service at our two-year campuses. We’re pleased they have chosen to continue their studies at Arkansas State and Henderson and can’t wait to see what the future holds for them.”