Search committee named to find UA’s next top research officer

by Talk Business & Politics staff ([email protected]) 803 views 

Photo credit: Michael Barera

The University of Arkansas on Wednesday (May 10) announced the advisory committee members who will lead a search for the UA’s next vice chancellor of research and innovation.

John English resigned the job late last year and returned to the College of Engineering faculty.

Margaret Sova McCabe, interim vice chancellor for research and innovation, professor of law and senior director of strategic projects will chair the 13-member committee.

Other members include:

  • Paul D. Adams, professor of biochemistry
  • Juan Carlos Balda, University Professor, department head and Twenty-First Century Leadership Chair in Engineering, electrical engineering
  • Hugh Churchill, associate professor of physics
  • Sandra D. Eksioglu, associate dean for research, engineering, John M. and Marie G. Hefley Professor in Logistics and Entrepreneurship
  • Jonathan Ivey, undergraduate student researcher and data science major
  • Mike Malone, vice chancellor for economic development
  • Jean-Francois (JF) Meullenet, interim dean, Dale Bumpers College of Agricultural, Food and Life Sciences and senior associate vice president for agriculture research, and director of the Agricultural Experiment Station for the UA System Division of Agriculture
  • Charles A. O’Brien, professor in Departments of Medicine and Orthopaedic Surgery, VA research scientist, director, Center for Musculoskeletal Disease Research, University of Arkansas for Medical Sciences
  • Kaylin Oliver, Ph.D. student in higher education
  • Erin Parker, executive director, Indigenous Food and Agriculture Initiative
  • Nelson Peacock, president and CEO of the Northwest Arkansas Council
  • Anna Zajicek, vice provost for faculty affairs

Details about the job are available at this link. A UA news release said the search would continue until the position is filled.