First Security’s Jim Taylor new chair of Arkansas Bankers Association

by Talk Business & Politics staff ([email protected]) 1,039 views 

The Arkansas Bankers Association recently announced their new slate of officers for 2023-2024 at the 133rd ABA annual convention.

New officers include:
Chairman: Jim Taylor, First Security Bancorp, Rogers
Chairman-Elect: Brad Chambless, Farmers & Merchants Bank, Stuttgart
Vice Chairman: Chris Gosnell, Farmers Bank & Trust Co., Magnolia
Treasurer: Scott Saffold, Union Bank & Trust Co., Monticello

Taylor is Senior Vice President at First Security Bancorp in Rogers. Prior to transitioning to the holding company, Taylor was the Regional President of First Security Bank with management oversight of all operations in Northwest Arkansas, including retail and commercial banking activities at 16 full-service banking centers. He started with First Security Bank in April 1998 opening a Loan Production Office in Fayetteville and oversaw First Security’s expansion into Northwest Arkansas.

Chambless is Chief Executive Officer and President of Farmers and Merchants Bank and the Bank of Fayetteville. Chambless joined Farmers and Merchants Bank in 2006 where his roles there included Executive Vice President and a member of the Board of Directors.

Gosnell joined Farmers Bank & Trust in 2010 and was elected President and CEO on January 16, 2017. Chris brought with him 6 years of banking experience from Northwest Arkansas when he joined the bank and previously served as President and Chief Banking Officer for Farmers Bank & Trust.

Saffold serves as the EVP/Chief Lending Officer at Union Bank & Trust Company, Monticello. He is a member of the executive management team responsible for the implementation and development of strategic initiatives for the bank, for 18 years. He also serves on the Trust and ALCO committees and is a Certified Public Accountant.