Arkansas Delta Byways to present 21st annual Delta Awards

by Talk Business & Politics staff ([email protected]) 408 views 

Photo courtesy of Arkansas Parks & Tourism.

The 21st annual Delta Awards recognizing tourism achievement in eastern Arkansas will be presented during festivities on Jan. 27 at the Hendrix Fine Arts Center on the campus of Phillips Community College of the University of Arkansas in Helena-West Helena.

The event is sponsored by Arkansas Delta Byways with support from the Helena Advertising and Promotion Commission.

Arkansas Delta Byways, located on the Arkansas State University campus, is a nonprofit organization recognized by the Arkansas Department of Parks, Heritage and Tourism as the official tourism promotion association for 15 counties in Arkansas. Counties include Arkansas, Chicot, Clay, Craighead, Crittenden, Cross, Desha, Drew, Greene, Lee, Mississippi, Monroe, Phillips, Poinsett and St. Francis.

Finalists for the awards include:

Hospitality Award
Grand Prairie Center, Stuttgart
Tacker’s Shake Shack, Marion
Wilson Café, Wilson

Entrepreneur Award
Delta Dirt Distillery, Helena-West Helena
National Cold War Center, Blytheville
The Oaks of NEA and The Oaks of NEA Downtown, Corning

Tourism Support/Promotional Award
Historic Dyess Colony: Johnny Cash Boyhood Home
King Biscuit Time with Thomas Jacques, Helena-West Helena
City of Paragould

Festival/Event of the Year
Hop Alley Rally, Corning
Levon Helm Jubilee, Marvell
Taylor House – Behind the Big House, Tillar

Boot Strap Award
Desha County Museum, Dumas
Keiser Arkansas Special Events Committee
Rivercrest Family, Career and Community Leaders of America –
Senior Meal Program, Tyronza

Cultural Heritage Award
Delta Roots Music Festival and Delta Cultural Center’s – Greens, Beans and Cornbread Cooking, Helena-West Helena
Lakeport Plantation Archeology Survey, Lake Village
Sultana Disaster Museum, Marion

Tourism Person of the Year Award
To be announced at the banquet