Sens. Sullivan, Johnson re-elected to Arkansas Senate

by George Jared ([email protected]) 823 views 

One of the most watched state senate races on election night wasn’t competitive. District 20 incumbent Dan Sullivan, R-Jonesbor, soundly defeated Democrat Chenoa Summers. Sullivan tallied 12,940 votes (62%) to Summers’ 7,807 votes (38%).

It will be Sullivan’s second term in the senate.

Sullivan and Summers sparred over several issues during the campaign but none more so than funding for the Craighead County Library. Sullivan has fought for funding cuts for and more oversight of the library. Summers opposed cuts and restrictions on content in the library.
Craighead County voters decided to cut the library’s funding from 2 mills to 1 one on election night.

State Senate District 21 incumbent Blake Johnson defeated Libertarian Alfred Holland. Johnson received 7,652 (84%) of the vote while Holland tallied 1,423 (16%).

Democrat Rep. Reginald Murdoch was leading his opponent Republican Terry Fuller in the State Senate District 9 race after partial returns (25% of precincts reporting) had been tallied. Murdoch received 1,730 (64%) to Fuller’s 961 (35%).

In the State House District 32 race, Rep. Jack Ladyman, R-Jonesboro, beat Libertarian Eric McGee. Ladyman received 4,634 (65%) to McGee’s 2,444 (34%).

In the State House District 1 race, Republican Jeremy Wooldridge was leading his Democrat opponent Teresa Roofe, late election night. Wooldridge had received 4,566 (80%) of votes cast while she had tallied 1,131 votes (20%) in partial results.

In the House District 34 race, Republican Joey Carr beat Democrat Ollie Collins. Carr received 3,265 (54%) of votes to Collins’ tally of 2,760 (46%).

The Republican incumbent in the State House District 37 race, Steve Howell was well on his way to an election win after partial results were tallied. Howell received 3,551 (78%) of votes cast while Democrat Christopher Joseph Reed garnered 876 votes (19%). Libertarian Brian Ramsey received 141 votes (3%).