Arkansas Delta Byways selects first ever Innovation Award winners

by George Jared ([email protected]) 917 views 

Arkansas Delta Byways has handed out its first-ever Innovation Awards for 2020-21.

Arkansas Delta Byways is the official tourism promotion association for 15 counties in eastern Arkansas. Those counties include Arkansas, Chicot, Clay, Craighead, Crittenden, Cross, Desha, Drew, Greene, Lee, Mississippi, Monroe, Phillips, Poinsett and St. Francis.

“These past two years have been very challenging for the tourism industry, especially in our area. However true to our heritage, culture and people, Delta perseverance prevailed,” said Dr. Adam Long, director of Arkansas State University’s Heritage Sites and executive director for Arkansas Delta Byways. “Businesses, organizations, events and individuals needed to develop innovative practices to survive. The region did not disappoint in their creativity.”

Here are the awards winners, and the presentation locations:

• National Cold War Center, at Blytheville Air Base.
• State Sen. Keith Ingram and the Historical Preservation Society, at West Memphis Welcome Center.
• Tyronza Christmas Parade Committee at Southern Tenant Farmers Museum.
• Breezy Barnyards, Dianne Dewailly, at Lepanto City Hall.
• EAST Program Cross County High School, Cherry Valley High School.
• East Arkansas Community College Fine Arts, EACC at Forrest City.
• Painted Ladies Society, Marianna Square.
• Louisiana Purchase State Park, King Biscuit Blues Mini Biscuit Bashes and Thrive, Inc., Helena Welcome Center.
• Great River Road, Terri McCullough, Lake Village Welcome Center.
• Food Truck Fridays, Ryan Copico, Monticello.
• Boys and Girls Club of McGehee, McGehee.
• Prairie Sunset Mural, Stuttgart Chamber of Commerce.
• Christmas in the Hollow, Piggott Square.
• Rector Community Museum Mini Concerts, Rector.
• Main Street Paragould Scarecrow Shuffle and Enchanting Nights, Paragould.
• Native Brew Works, Jonesboro and the Johnny Cash Virtual Heritage Festival, Jonesboro.