Winners named for 2022 Arkansas Food Hall of Fame

by Talk Business & Politics staff ([email protected]) 2,408 views 

Photo: Food from La Casa de Mi Abuelita.

The Department of Arkansas Heritage’s Arkansas Food Hall of Fame winners for the class of 2022 were announced on Monday (Feb. 7).

Arkansas Heritage also honored chicken as the 2022 Arkansas Food Hall of Fame Food of the Year.

This year’s winners by category:

Arkansas Food Hall of Fame
Colonial Steak House of Pine Bluff (Jefferson County)
Dairy King of Portia (Lawrence County)
Neal’s Café of Springdale (Washington County)

Proprietor of the Year
Capi Peck and Brent Peterson, Trio’s Restaurant of Little Rock (Pulaski County)

Food-Themed Events
World Championship Duck Gumbo Cookoff (Arkansas County)

Gone But Not Forgotten
Coy’s Steak House (Garland County)

People’s Choice
La Casa de Mi Abuelita (Jefferson County)

The Department of Arkansas Heritage launched the Arkansas Food Hall of Fame program in 2016 to recognize Arkansas’ legendary restaurants, proprietors and food-themed events across the state.

This year, more than 2,000 submissions were received from all 75 Arkansas counties for the Arkansas Food Hall of Fame.

“It’s special to see Arkansans from across the state come together to celebrate food, an important part of our state’s heritage and culture,” said Stacy Hurst, secretary of the Arkansas Department of Parks, Heritage and Tourism. “We are honored to recognize such incredible proprietors, restaurants and food-themed events that mean so much to our state and its residents.”

Winners were selected by a committee composed of Arkansans who are historians, chefs, foodies and food authors.

In addition to Hurst, committee members include Paul S. Austin, Jimmy Bryant, Chip Culpepper, Quantia “Key” Fletcher, Cindy Grisham, Montine McNulty, Rex Nelson, Tim Nutt, Kat Robinson, Stephanie Wade, David Ware and Stanley Young.

Event partners included Ben E. Keith, Moon Distributors, The Poultry Federation, Arkansas Department of Agriculture and Arkansas Farm Bureau. For more information, visit