Corey Seats seeks Second Judicial District Prosecutor post

by Talk Business & Politics staff ([email protected]) 1,131 views 

Corey Seats, a longtime deputy prosecutor, will seek to become the Prosecuting Attorney of the Second Judicial District. The District, the second largest in the state, comprises six counties in Northeast Arkansas—Clay, Craighead, Crittenden, Greene, Mississippi, and Poinsett.

Seats, along with deputy prosecutor Jessica Thomason, are the two announced candidates for this position.

A prosecutor since December 1999, Seats is the longest serving deputy in the district. In his 21 years, Seats has successfully prosecuted over 6,000 cases. Since January 2014, Seats has served as the supervising attorney and coordinator for the Second Judicial District Drug Task Force.

In addition to his career as deputy prosecutor, Seats is an active member of the Arkansas Army National Guard and a former active-duty member of the United States Army.

“I am a career prosecutor, not a politician,” said Seats. “My entire adult life has been focused on serving and protecting my community, my state, and my nation. Honor, integrity, excellence, and leadership are the code upon which I live. I look forward to continuing that service as your Prosecuting Attorney.”

Seats started his career as a deputy prosecutor in 1999. Since 2014, he has been the coordinator for the Second Judicial District Drug Task Force. In that capacity, Seats manages the day-to-day administrative activities of the Drug Task Force, and serves as lead prosecutor for the most serious drug cases throughout the six-county district.

A graduate of Brookland High School and Arkansas State University (ASU), Seats is a lifelong resident of Northeast Arkansas. After graduating from ASU, Seats entered active duty with the United States Army, and was stationed at Fort Hood, Texas with the First Cavalry Division. Seats left active duty in November 1995 and transferred to the Arkansas Army National Guard.

Seats received his Juris Doctorate from the University of Arkansas School of Law in Fayetteville in 1999.