Citizens Bank chosen as SBA bank of the year, adds Russ Harrington to board

by George Jared ([email protected]) 1,141 views 

Citizens Bank, headquartered in Batesville, has been recognized as the Bank of the Year in category two by the Arkansas District Office of the Small Business Administration.

The bank also added former Baptist Health CEO Russ Harrington to its board of directors on Thursday (May 6).

“Citizens Bank was one of the first banks in the region to originate PPP loans for our customers and we are honored by this recognition,” said Adam Mitchell, President and CEO of Citizens Bank. “We are humbled to continue to serve each client, especially our small business owners, during this turbulent time.”

Banks are honored by the Arkansas District Office of the Small Business Administration in categories separated by asset size. In 2021, with the combination of Regular SBA 7(a) Loans and Paycheck Protection Program loans, Citizens Bank was selected as the award recipient among “category two” size banks, with over 558 loans.

Citizens Bank also announced today that Russ Harrington has been added to its board of directors.

Harrington is president emeritus of Baptist Health, the state’s most comprehensive health care system. He retired as president and CEO of Baptist Health on July 1, 2014. Harrington received a Bachelor of Science degree from Arkansas State University in Jonesboro and a master’s degree in health services management from the University of Missouri in Columbia.

“Growth on our board is a key representation of our statewide expansion,” said Jeff Teague, board chairman of Citizens Bancshares. “Russ’s expertise and insight is a valuable addition to this important group; we are honored to have him join our board.”

“Supporting a progressive community bank like Citizens Bank is an important key to Arkansas’ success,” said Harrington. “I’m looking forward to partnering with them as a board member and investing in their mission and growth across Arkansas.”