Tabor confirmed as U.S. Marshal for Arkansas’ Western District

by Talk Business & Politics staff ([email protected]) 1,170 views 

Greg Tabor, the former police chief at the Northwest Arkansas National Airport, has been confirmed by the U.S. Senate as the U.S. Marshal for the Western District of Arkansas. He succeeds Mike Oglesby who served as the Western District Marshal since August 2010.

As the enforcement arm of the U.S. Federal Judiciary, the Marshals are tasked with capturing fugitives, serving federal arrest warrants, transporting prisoners, and overseeing the witness protection program. District Marshals are political appointees and serve four-year terms, with no limit on terms served.

The Western District of Arkansas comprises the counties of Ashley, Baxter, Benton, Boone, Bradley, Calhoun, Carroll, Clark, Columbia, Crawford, Franklin, Garland, Hempstead, Hot Spring, Howard, Johnson, Lafayette, Little River, Logan, Madison, Marion, Miller, Montgomery, Nevada, Newton, Ouachita, Pike, Polk, Scott, Searcy, Sebastian, Sevier, Union and Washington.

“Greg Tabor will serve the people of Arkansas the same way that he served the citizens of Fayetteville – with honor and distinction,” noted a joint statement from U.S. Sens. John Boozman, R-Ark., and Tom Cotton, R-Ark. “Greg has developed a wealth of experience through decades of law enforcement service that will enable him to excel in this new role. His leadership skills and expertise will make him an asset to the U.S. Marshal Service. We congratulate Greg and look forward to working with him.”

Prior to taking the job at XNA, he served for 34 years with the city of Fayetteville Police Department, beginning in 1985 until he retired as the Chief of Police in 2019. In addition to serving in the police department, Tabor was the chairman of the Board for the Fourth Judicial District Drug Task Force. He earned his police officer certificate from the Arkansas Law Enforcement Training Academy.

Facebook Comments