Tabor nominated to be next U.S. Marshal for the Western District of Arkansas

by Talk Business & Politics staff ([email protected]) 2,563 views 

Greg Tabor, chief of police at the Northwest Arkansas National Airport and former Fayetteville chief of police, has been nominated by President Donald Trump to serve as U.S. Marshal for the Western District of Arkansas.

The nomination was supported by U.S. Sens. John Boozman, R-Ark., and Tom Cotton, R-Ark.

As the enforcement arm of the U.S. Federal Judiciary, the Marshals are tasked with capturing fugitives, serving federal arrest warrants, transporting prisoners, and overseeing the witness protection program. District Marshals are political appointees and serve four-year terms, with no limit on terms served. His nomination must be confirmed by the U.S. Senate.

The Western District of Arkansas comprises the counties of Ashley, Baxter, Benton, Boone, Bradley, Calhoun, Carroll, Clark, Columbia, Crawford, Franklin, Garland, Hempstead, Hot Spring, Howard, Johnson, Lafayette, Little River, Logan, Madison, Marion, Miller, Montgomery, Nevada, Newton, Ouachita, Pike, Polk, Scott, Searcy, Sebastian, Sevier, Union and Washington.

“Greg is an excellent selection to serve as U.S. Marshal for the Western District of Arkansas. The skills he honed during his 35-plus years in law enforcement will be an enormous asset to the U.S. Marshals Service. His leadership at the Fayetteville Police Department over the course of his tenure as chief earned Greg well-deserved accolades. Senator Cotton and I will work with our colleagues to get Greg’s nomination swiftly confirmed by the Senate so he can continue the U.S. Marshals’ long and storied history in our state,” Boozman said in a statement announcing Tabor’s nomination.

Prior to serving as chief of police at XNA, Tabor was with the Fayetteville Police Department for 34 years. He retired from the department as chief of police in 2019. He also worked Tabor as chairman of the Board for the Fourth Judicial District Drug Task Force. He earned his Police Officer Certificate from the Arkansas Law Enforcement Training Academy.

The previous Marshal was former Polk County Sheriff Mike Oglesby who served as the Western District Marshal since August 2010.