Agriculture scholarships presented by governor

by Talk Business & Politics staff ([email protected]) 182 views 

Gov. Asa Hutchinson, Arkansas Agriculture Secretary Wes Ward, and State Plant Board Director Butch Calhoun doled $20,000 in scholarships at the state capitol earlier this week to students from four Arkansas universities with agricultural programs. The universities included Arkansas State University, Southern Arkansas University, the University of Arkansas, and Arkansas Tech University.

“Farmers provide so many things that are essential to life: beef, pork, poultry, and even catfish; cotton for clothes and lumber for houses and paper. I am pleased that you have chosen to follow thousands before you who have learned the best methods to produce the highest yields. In choosing a career in agriculture, which is our state’s largest industry, you have chosen a rewarding path. Thank you in advance for the contribution,” Hutchinson told the recipients.

Funding for the scholarships comes from civil penalties collected by the Arkansas Agriculture Department’s State Plant Board. Each institution receives $5,000 annually and has its own process for awarding scholarship funds to students and setting the amount each student receives for respective programs.

Scholarship recipients include the following students:

Arkansas State University

  • Brenna Cannon, Jonesboro, Agronomy and Agriculture Business major
  • Aubrey Hargett, Hampton,  Horticulture major
  • Jessica Krob, Leachville, Plant Science major

Southern Arkansas University

  • Kory Callaway, Magnolia, Agriculture Business major
  • Strand Barricklow, Lebanon, Indiana; Agriculture Business major
  • Tina Padgett, Damascus, Agriculture Business major

Arkansas Tech University

  • Laney Huskey, Batesville, Agriculture Education
  • Matthew Owens, Green Forest, Agriculture Business

University of Arkansas

  • Thomas McKeown, Monticello, majoring in Horticulture, Landscape, and Turf Sciences.