Tim Griffin named chairman of Republican Lieutenant Governors Association

by Talk Business & Politics staff (staff2@talkbusiness.net) 240 views 

The Republican Lieutenant Governors Association (RLGA) announced Arkansas Lt. Governor Tim Griffin will serve as the 2019 chairman of the national organization.

“It is my honor to serve as the 2019 Chairman for the Republican Lieutenant Governors Association,” Griffin said in a statement. “The RLGA was instrumental to my campaign from the moment I announced my intention to serve as lieutenant governor, and I am excited about the opportunity to support the next generation of Republican leaders all across the country. Lieutenant governors serve in a variety of ways in their respective states, and we must continue to ensure that conservative leaders who are committed to defending our freedom and growing jobs and opportunity are elected.”

First elected in 2014, Griffin previously served as U.S. Representative in Arkansas’s 2nd Congressional District from 2011 to 2015, including a stint on the House Committee on Ways and Means while also serving as a Deputy Majority Whip. Griffin has spent 23 years as an Army reserve officer and was recently selected for promotion from lieutenant colonel to colonel and was deployed to Iraq with the 101st Airborne Division (Air Assault).  Griffin served as U.S. attorney for the Eastern District of Arkansas and special assistant to the president and deputy director of political affairs for President George W. Bush.

The committee also announced that Iowa Lt. Governor Adam Gregg will serve as the vice chairman of the organization alongside Griffin. Gregg was appointed to the lieutenant governor’s office in 2017 by Iowa Governor Kim Reynolds after she vacated the lieutenant governor’s office to become governor. They were both elected to a full four-year term in November of 2018.

The past midterm election cycle was a major transition cycle for Republican lieutenant governors as first-time lieutenant governors were elected in nine states. In 2019, three states will hold elections for lieutenant governor: Louisiana, Mississippi, and Kentucky.